Florida Bicycle Traffic LawsGet a Free Consultation
Florida’s bicycle traffic laws and other bicyclist regulations are defined in section 316.2065 of the Florida Statutes. Here’s an overview of traffic laws that apply to bicyclists on roadways and bicycle paths.
Stay as Far Right as Safely Possible
Bicyclists must ride as far right “as practicable” with exceptions for passing, turning left, avoiding hazards, traveling straight in a right-turn-only lane, where lane widths are too narrow to safely share, and on one-way streets with two or more lanes.
Seat and Passenger Requirements
Riders must ride on or astride a permanent and regular seat and may not carry more passengers than the bicycle is designed or equipped for.
Children under 4 years of age or below 40 pounds must be carried in a seat or carrier that secures them and protects them from the bike’s moving parts.
Any bicycle rider or passenger under 16 years of age must wear a bicycle helmet that meets the federal safety standard. Failure to wear a helmet may result in a citation or fine.
Lights When Riding at Night
Bicycles ridden between sunset and sunrise must have a white front lamp visible from at least 500 feet and a red rear reflector visible from 600 feet.
Every bicycle must have brakes that can stop within 25 feet when riding 10 miles per hour on dry pavement.
Riding on Sidewalks
While riding on a sidewalk, bicyclists must yield the right-of-way to pedestrians and give an verbal signal before overtaking and passing them.
Riding in groups
Only 2 bicyclists may ride side-by-side on a roadway or bicycle lane. Groups of bicyclists must not impede traffic by traveling slower than normal traffic.
Violating any of these regulations, while riding on a bicycle path or road, may result in a citation or fine. A law enforcement officer is not allowed to give out tickets to individuals on private property, unless that portion of the property is used by the general public.